Deutsch  |  English
NEWS

"Ask Wine&Partners.
They know how to do it"

Peter-Jordan-Straße 6/3
1190 Wien

+43 1 369 79 900
office@wine-partners.at
  | Suche

François Lurton surprises us yet again!

A Special Vermouth

10.04.2019

François Lurton, from the eponymous winegrowing dynasty in Bordeaux, not only vinifies excellent wines in South America and Europe, but also has a great passion for distinctive distillates. After the rousing success of his Sorgin, a gin distilled from Sauvignon Blanc, he and his partner Sabine Jaren have now created a fabulous vermouth – from this same grape variety.

François Lurton und Sabine Jaren 2017 © Thomas Sieberer
François Lurton and Sabine Jaren. © François Lurton

Hardly anyone in the world knows the Sauvignon Blanc as well as Lurton, and even fewer have the opportunity to vinify this grape variety on as many diverse and exciting terroirs as he does, in Spain, France, Argentina & Chile.

This has led him in recent years to go one step further and see – in addition to the wine – what outstanding specialty items he could create from it. For a long time, he had played with the notion of making a vermouth. After the great success of Sorgin, he did not hesitate for long and began to develop the new idea.

A tribute to his great-grandfather
The vermouth is called «LÉONCE», christened after François Lurton’s great-grandfather, Léonce Récapet, who was a gifted distiller and tireless worker. In memory of him and his great technical command of the stillman’s art, which he left to the family, François has created this unique aromatised & fortified wine. No one else in the world uses this grape variety for making vermouth. It is therefore truly one-of-a-kind.

lu_leonce_detalle_2019_francois_lurton_sa
A tribute to the great-grandfather of François Lurton "Léonce Récapet". © François Lurton
The favourite grape of Lurton: Sauvignon Blanc © François Lurton

Léonce Vermouth/Sauvignon Blanc/Extra Dry
…is an extra-dry white vermouth made from selected Sauvignon Blanc grapes from the region Gers (Occitaine). The most recent vintage of the wine «Les Fumées Blanches» serves as the base, to which the macerate is added. In this process, the Sauvignon Blanc grapes are distilled to 70° alcohol and flavoured with herbs.

This blend of wine, brandy and herbal extracts creates a nicely balanced vermouth with intense and complex aromas: pink grapefruit rind, bitter orange, tangerine, lemon, lime, lychee, violet, liquorice, wormwood & sage.

16% Alcohol

Tasting notes:
Robust notes of citrus fruits (pink grapefruit, mandarin orange, lemon & orange rind) combine with delicate aromas of violet, sage & verbena. An explosion on the palate, with a pleasant freshness. A fleeting note of lychee adds an exotic touch. It is rounded off with a hint of bitterness from the tart orange peel and the spicy notes of liquorice on the palate. As befits a vermouth, the herb that gave the drink its name persists long into the finish.

Please find the technical sheet here.

An explosion on the palate: Vermouth Léonce. © François Lurton

Soon also available in red!
Anyone who thinks that this is François Lurton’s only vermouth is in for a surprise. The final polishing work is now being done on two very unusual red variations. These involve a couple grape varieties from what Lurton considers his favourite terroirs from which he vinifies wine: Malbec from the appellation Chacayes in Argentina and the liqueur-wine from Maury in Roussillon, France. Further information concerning these will soon follow!

The history of vermouth
The name «vermouth» comes from that of the herb wormwood (Artemisia absinthium), which has been used as an ingredient in this drink throughout its history. It is a fortified wine, which has been aromatised with spices and herbs. As early as the 16th century there were fortified wines in Germany that contained wormwood as the primary flavouring ingredient. Around this time, an Italian merchant named d’Alessio began to produce a similar product called ‘wormwood wine’ in Piedmont. In the middle of the 17th century, the drink began to be consumed in England under the name ‘vermouth’, which remains today in common usage.

Production
Grapes are used as base ingredients for vermouth, to achieve a distillate with low alcohol by volume. The wine can mature briefly before the other ingredients are added. Alcohol is usually boosted by adding a neutral brandy. The fortified wine is decanted into large casks, into which the dry ingredients have already been poured. This particular mixture is stirred at intervals until the flavours in the dry ingredients have been absorbed and the vermouth ready for bottling.

Botanicals commonly used in vermouth include wormwood, cloves, cinnamon, quinine, citrus peel, cardamom, marjoram, chamomile, cilantro, juniper, verbena & ginger. Recipes for making vermouth vary extensively, with most manufacturers marketing their own preferred flavour and their own version of the drink.

Meet François Lurton at Vinexpo Bordeaux!
13th to 16th May / Hall 1 / D 55

For appointments at Vinexpo or pictures please contact Andrea Schultes, Wine&Partners: a.schultes@wine-partners.at

PICTURES (downloadable)
Mehr entdecken

Nur ein Hauch von Rosa

Wie ein Weisswein, aber mit runden Ecken

Sorry, this entry is only available in German.

Learn more

26.06.2018

Monsieur Sauvignon

Der neue Jahrgang 2017

Sorry, this entry is only available in German.

Learn more

16.04.2018

Lurton bringt Rosa ins Grau

Rosé aus grauen Trauben?

Sorry, this entry is only available in German.

Learn more

07.06.2018

Deutsch  |  English
NEWS

“Ask Wine&Partners.
They know how to do it.”

Peter-Jordan-Straße 6/3
1190 Wien

+43 1 369 79 900
office@wine-partners.at
  | Suche

François Lurton überrascht schon wieder

Ein besonderer „Wermutstropfen“

10.04.2019

François Lurton, Sproß der gleichnamigen Winzerdynastie in Bordeaux, vinifiziert nicht nur exzellente Weine in Südamerika und Europa, sondern hat auch eine große Leidenschaft für spezielle Destillate. Nach Sorgin, einem Gin auf Basis von Sauvignon Blanc, kreierte er gemeinsam mit seiner Partnerin Sabine Jaren nun einen Wermut – aus der gleichen Traubensorte.

François Lurton und Sabine Jaren 2017 © Thomas Sieberer
François Lurton und Sabine Jaren. © François Lurton

„Sauvignon Blanc wurde mir praktisch in die Wiege gelegt“, lacht François Lurton, und die Leidenschaft für diese Sorte lebt Lurton in unterschiedlichen Terroirs das ganze Jahr über aus – in Spanien und Frankreich auf der nördlichen Hemisphäre. Und in der zweiten Hälfte des Jahres dann in Argentinien und Chile. Damit aber nicht genug, entwickelt Lurton auch noch Destillate auf Basis seiner Lieblingssorte. Nach dem grossen Erfolg seines Gins „Sorgin“ bringt er nun einen Wermut auf den Markt.

Eine Hommage an den Urgroßvater
Der Wermut heißt „LÉONCE“, benannt nach dem Urgroßvater François Lurtons Léonce Recapet. Dieser war ein Destiller-Genie und unermüdlicher Tüftler. Im Andenken an ihn und sein großartiges Know-how, das er der Familie hinterließ, kreierte François dieses Destillat. Es scheint ein absolutes Unikat zu sein, denn ein Wermut auf Basis von Sauvignon Blanc ist weltweit nicht bekannt.

lu_leonce_detalle_2019_francois_lurton_sa
Eine Verbeugung vor dem Großvater Léonce Récapet. © François Lurton
Lurtons Lieblingsrebsorte, der Sauvignon Blanc © François Lurton

Léonce Vermouth / Sauvignon Blanc / Extra Dry
ist ein extra trockener weißer Wermut aus ausgewählten Sauvignon Blanc-Trauben der Region Gers (Occitaine). Als Basiswein fungiert der letzte Jahrgang des „Les Fumées Blanches“. Ihm wird das Mazerat (die Sauvignon Blanc Trauben werden zuerst auf 70° destilliert und mit Kräutern versetzt) beigemischt. Diese Mischung aus Wein, Weinbrand, und Kräuterauszügen ergibt einen ausgewogenen Wermut mit intensiven und komplexen Aromen.

Alkoholgehalt: 16 vol. %.

Verkostungsnotiz:
Kraftvolle Noten von Zitrusfrüchten (rosa Grapefruit, Mandarine, Zitrone und Orangenschale) vereinen sich mit zarten Aromen von Veilchen, Salbei und Eisenkraut. Dichter Gaumen mit angenehmer Frische. Ein Hauch von Litschi fügt eine exotische Note hinzu. Abgerundet wird er mit einem Touch von Bitterkeit durch die Bitterorange und die würzigen Noten von Lakritz am Gaumen. Wie es sich für einen Wermut gehört, bleibt das gleichnamige Kraut länger im Abgang.

Bitte finden Sie alle technischen Angeben hier.

Die Aromenvielfalt des Léonce © François Lurton

Wermut auch in rot
Wer glaubt, dass das François Lurtons einziger Wermut ist, hat sich getäuscht! Eifrig wird schon an den Endprodukten von zwei ganz außergewöhnlichen roten Varianten gefeilt. Es handelt sich dabei um Rebsorten aus seinen – wie er sie nennt – Lieblingsterroirs: Malbec aus der Appellation Chacayes / Argentinien und dem Likörwein Maury aus Roussillon, Frankreich. Bei Lurton wird’s nie langweilig.

Die Geschichte des Wermuts
Der Name «Wermut» kommt vom gleichnamigen Wermutkraut (Artemisia absinthium), das im Laufe seiner Geschichte als Zutat für dieses Getränk verwendet wurde. Es handelt sich dabei um einen gespritteten Wein, der mit Gewürzen und Kräutern aromatisiert wurde. Bereits im 16. Jahrhundert gab es in Deutschland gesprittete Weine, die Wermutkraut als Hauptzutat enthielten. Ungefähr um diese Zeit begann ein italienischer Händler namens D’Alessio, ein ähnliches Produkt als «Wermutwein» im Piemont zu produzieren. In der Mitte des 17. Jahrhunderts wurde das Getränk in England unter dem Namen „Vermouth“ konsumiert, der bis heute der gebräuchliche Name für das Getränk ist.

Treffen Sie François Lurton auf der Vinexpo Bordeaux!
13. bis 16. Mai / Halle 1 / D 55

Für Terminvereinbarungen auf der Vinexpo oder Fotos kontaktieren Sie bitte Andrea Schultes, Wine&Partners: a.schultes@wine-partners.at

BILDER (downloadbar)
Mehr entdecken

Nur ein Hauch von Rosa

Wie ein Weisswein, aber mit runden Ecken

Wem herkömmliche Rosés zu lieblich sind, der wird am jüngsten Wein von François Lurton seine helle Freude haben. Der gebürtige Bordelaiser vinifiziert die seltene Sorte „Gris de Sauvignon“ zu einem knalltrockenen, schlanken und aroma-intensiven Wein.

Weiterlesen

26.06.2018

Monsieur Sauvignon

Der neue Jahrgang 2017

Kann man mit einer Rebsorte verheiratet sein? François Lurton hat eine so enge Bindung zu Sauvignon Blanc, dass es fast nach einem Bund fürs Leben aussieht. Auf dem Bordelaiser Weingut seiner Familie ist er mit Sauvignon aufgewachsen, die Sorte wurde ihm praktisch in die Wiege gelegt. Doch trieb es den jungen Weinmacher bald weg. Weg

Weiterlesen

16.04.2018

Lurton bringt Rosa ins Grau

Rosé aus grauen Trauben?

François Lurton liebt Rosé-Weine, denn sie sind wunderbar anpassungsfähige Speisenbegleiter, und das ist für einen Franzosen die wichtigsten Funktion eines Weines. Lurton liebt Rosé so sehr, dass er ihn sogar aus Grauen Trauben macht.

Weiterlesen

07.06.2018