Deutsch  |  English
NEWS

"Ask Wine&Partners.
They know how to do it"

Peter-Jordan-Straße 6/3
1190 Wien

+43 1 369 79 900
office@wine-partners.at
  | Suche

Wines of Portugal

Alentejo is great – nine times over!

12.04.2016

At this year’s competition 50 Great Portuguese Wines, one region stood out as particularly successful: no fewer than nine of the winning wines were produced in the up-and-coming Alentejo region! This time, the 50 top wines of the country were selected by a prominent jury – and for the first time, the list of winners was compiled by three Master Sommeliers from the USA.

Alongside Peter Granoff – who has been active in the wine business for thirty years and has been chosen as Sommelier of the Year by the James Beard Foundation – the three-member jury was filled out by Dennis Kelly, chief sommelier of Thomas Keller’s California restaurant The French Laundry, and Madeline Triffon, wine’s grand dame of Detroit and one of the two first female Master Sommeliers.

Ten various wine regions, among them the Douro Valley and the Dão, made it into the Top 50 listing. Remarkable, though, is the performance of the Alentejo, in that nine wines from this up-and-coming region were chosen among the fifty best in all of Portugal.

In the white wine department, the impressive Terrenus 2013 from Rui Reguinga made the list, as did the Monte da Ravasqueira Branco 2014 from the eponymous estate.

Red wines selected reached back to the 2009 vintage: Roquevale Grande Reserva 2009 led the way, followed by Azamor Selected Vines 2010 (Azamor Wines), Adega de Borba Reserva and Comendador (Adega Mayor), both from 2011. The Alentejo’s triumphal parade continued with Cortes de Cima 2012 and Art Terra 2014 from Herdade São Miguel (Casa Agricola Alexandre Relvas), plus Pera Doce Premium 2014 (Herdade da Candeeira).

The demand for Portuguese wines continues to grow in the US market. Just in the year 2015, import figures showed an increase of some 16%. Nuno Vale, marketing director at Wines of Portugal, is excited about this development: ‘We feel very enthusiastic about the fact that Portuguese wines are attracting so much attention in the United States, and above all among the younger consumers.’

First and foremost, the 50 Great Portuguese Wines should awake enthusiasm and interest on the part of new retailers and at the same time inspire current stockists – while at the same time giving all winelovers the opportunity to immerse themselves in the exciting world of Portuguese wine.

Terrenus 2013 (Rui Reguinga)
Alentejo Ravasqueira © Alentejo
Monte da Ravasqueira White 2014 (Monte da Ravasqueira)
Alentejo Roquevale © Alentejo
Roquevale Grande Reserva 2009 (Roquevale)
Alentejo Azamor © Alentejo
Azamor Selected Vines 2010 (Azamor Wines)
Alentejo Borba © Alentejo
Adega de Borba Reserva (Adega Borba)
Alentejo Comendador © Alentejo
Reserva do Comendador 2011 (Adega Mayor)
Alentejo Cima © Alentejo
Cortes de Cima 2012 (Cortes de Cima)
Art Terra 2014 (Herdade São Miguel)
Alentejo Peradoce © Alentejo
Pera Doce Premium 2014 (Herdade da Candeeira)

CVRA – The Comissão Vitivinícola Regional Alentejana (CVRA) – Alentejo Regional Winegrowing Commission – was founded in 1989 as a private institution dedicated to certifying, controlling and protecting the Alentejo PDO and Alentejano PGI wines. It is also responsible for promoting the Alentejo wines both domestically and in select international markets. Funding for the CVRA comes from the sale of certification seals to be placed on the back label of Alentejo bottles to guarantee the origin of the wine.

Deutsch  |  English
NEWS

“Ask Wine&Partners.
They know how to do it.”

Peter-Jordan-Straße 6/3
1190 Wien

+43 1 369 79 900
office@wine-partners.at
  | Suche

Wines of Portugal

Alentejo ist neunmal „great“

12.04.2016

Beim diesjährigen Wettbewerb „50 Great Portuguese Wines“ triumphierte eine Region besonders: Gleich neun Weine kommen aus dem aufstrebenden Alentejo-Gebiet!

Die 50 Topweine des Landes werden jeweils von einer prominenten Jury gekürt. Zum ersten Mal wurde die Siegerliste in diesem Jahr von drei US-amerikanischen Master Sommeliers kuratiert.

Neben Peter Granoff – seit 30 Jahren in der Weinwirtschaft tätig und von der James Beard Foundation zum „Sommelier of the Year“ gekürt – stellten Dennis Kelly, Chef-Sommelier Thomas Kellers kalifornischen French Laundry Restaurant und Madeline Triffon, die Grand Dame aus Detroit und eine der ersten beiden weiblichen Master Sommeliers, das Jury-Trio.

Zehn unterschiedliche Wein-Regionen, unter ihnen auch das Douro- und das Dao-Gebiet, haben es in die Liste der Top 50 geschafft. Bemerkenswert ist das Abschneiden des Alentejo, denn  neun Weine dieser aufstrebenden Region zählen zu den 50 besten Weinen Portugals.

Bei den Weißweinen begeisterten der Terrenus 2013 (Rui Reguinga) sowie der Monte da Ravasqueira Branco 2014 des gleichnamigen Weinguts.

Die Jahrgänge bei den roten Sorten reichen bis 2009 zurück: Roquevale Grande Reserva 2009 bildet den Anfang, gefolgt von Azamor Selected Vines 2010 (Azamor Wines) und Adega de Borba Reserva und Comendador (Adega Mayor), beide aus 2011. Abgeschlossen wird der Siegeszug der Alentejo-Weine mit Cortes de Cima 2012Art Terra 2014 von der Herdade Sao Miguel (Casa Agricola Alexandre Relvas) und Pera Doce Premium 2014 (Herdade da Candeeira).

Die Nachfrage an portugiesischen Wein am amerikanischen Markt steigt kontinuierlich. Allein im Jahr 2015 stieg der Import um rund 16%. Nuno Vale, Marketing-Direktor von Wines of Portugal, freut sich über diese Entwicklung: „Wir sind begeistert, dass portugiesischer Wein in den Vereinigten Staaten einen so großen Zuspruch erfährt, vor allem bei jüngeren Konsumenten.“

Die „50 besten Weine Portugals“ sollen in erster Linie die Begeisterung bei neuen Händlern wecken, sie gleichzeitig bei bestehenden schüren und allen weinaffinen Interessierten die Möglichkeit geben, in die aufregende Welt portugiesischen Weins einzutauchen.

Terrenus 2013 (Rui Reguinga)
Alentejo Ravasqueira © Alentejo
Monte da Ravasqueira Weiß 2014 (Monte da Ravasqueira)
Alentejo Roquevale © Alentejo
Roquevale Grande Reserva 2009 (Roquevale)
Alentejo Azamor © Alentejo
Azamor Selected Vines 2010 (Azamor Wines)
Alentejo Borba © Alentejo
Adega de Borba Reserva (Adega Borba)
Alentejo Comendador © Alentejo
Comendador 2011 (Adega Mayor)
Alentejo Cima © Alentejo
Cortes de Cima 2012 (Cortes de Cima)
Art Terra 2014 (Herdade Sao Miguel)
Alentejo Peradoce © Alentejo
Pera Doce Premium 2014 (Herdade da Candeeira)

CVRA – Comissao Vitivinicola Regional Alentejana – Weinkommission Alentejo
Die Weinkommission Alentejo wurde 1989 als privater, interprofessioneller Verein für öffentliche Zwecke gegründet. Sie definiert die strategischen Richtlinien für die Region sowie die Weinbau- und Weinproduktionsrichtlinien. Als Zertifikationsstelle aller Weine aus dem Alentejo liegt ihr Ziel in Kontrolle, Vermarktung Verteidigung der Ursprungsbezeichnungen DOC Alentejo und Regional Alentejano (IG). Alle Weine, die von dem CVRA zertifiziert wurden, tragen am Rücketikett ein integriertes Qualitätssiegel.