Deutsch  |  English
NEWS

"Ask Wine&Partners.
They know how to do it"

Peter-Jordan-Straße 6/3
1190 Wien

+43 1 369 79 900
office@wine-partners.at
  | Suche

Gut Hermannsberg puts a magnificent and historic wine up for auction:

The very last bottle

03.09.2018

The vintage ranks as one of the best of the twentieth century all over Europe. And in Germany’s winegrowing regions, 1921 could very well have been the vintage of the century. Anybody who comes across a wine from this vintage doesn’t hesitate. However, there are not too many bottles from 1921 on the market any more – no wonder, when one considers the historical significance:

Gut Hermannsberg Trockenbeerenauslese 1921 © Gut Hermannsberg
A historical rarity of inestimable value: 1921er Schlossböcklheimer Kupfergrube TBA (Nahe). © Gut Hermannsberg

Born out of rags & tatters
After the World War years 1914–1918, Germany was ruined. Like many other economic sectors, the wine industry was depressed. Vineyards and cellars, distribution and markets had to be restored under extremely difficult conditions. Furthermore, the victorious allies imposed crippling demands for reparations upon defeated Germany – which was hardly in any condition to pay. As security, the Allied Powers occupied the left bank of the Rhine River, along with four ‘bridgeheads’ on the right bank, including Cologne and Mainz.

A timely rescue
The Nahe Valley as well was occupied, by the French, and the wines of the Prussian State Viticultural Domain Niederhausen Schlossböckelheim (today Gut Hermannsberg) from the exceptional 1921 vintage would thus have fallen under French administration. But the directors of the estate were able to sell the precious wines into unoccupied Frankfurt am Main before the French were able to take control, so that they remained in Germany.

Presented to the president
When, after protracted and tedious negotiations, the German government was able to bring about the departure of occupying forces, the country’s President von Hindenburg figured as one of the heroes of the success. He was singled out for honours at gala festivities in Cologne celebrating the liberation. And it was no accident that Hindenburg was poured a wine from the Prussian State Domain: folks were aware of his preference for this particular producer. At this commemorative fête, on 31 March 1926, a 1921er Trockenbeerenauslese Kupfergrube was served.

Winemaker Karsten Peter with the very last bottle of the historic 1921 TBA. © Gut Hermannsberg

The last bottle
Only one bottle of this wine remains, in the Rarities Cellar at Gut Hermannsberg – a bottle that incorporates both a historical document and a phenomenal vintage. The neck of the bottle is decorated with a banderol, where one can read the ornamental script: Presented as a celebratory libation to honour the President of Germany, General Field Marshall von Hindenburg, at the liberation festivities in Cologne, on 21 March 1926.

Vinified with artistry & expertise
When Gut Hermannsberg’s general manager and oenologist Karsten Peter replaced the cork two years ago, and in doing so examined the condition of the wine, he was astonished at its concentration, complexity and freshness. The cellarmaster was heard to exclaim: ‘The wine is as fresh as the new morning’!

And the wine is most certainly anything but a lightweight: In order to be classified with the Prädikat Trockenbeerenauslese, a wine must reach 150 degrees on the Oechsle scale – the TBA from 1921 in fact doubled it! Karsten Peter was extraordinarily impressed, and says, ‘This was a masterful achievement on the part of my predecessor, to escort this wine of 308° Oechsle perfectly through the process of fermentation.’

One of a kind, in every respect
The Trockenbeerenauslese Kupfergrube from the vintage 1921 is a unique specimen: historically, qualitatively and emotionally. It is therefore anticipated that Gut Hermannsberg will reach a new auction record with this bottle – after a 2015er TBA last year recorded the highest figure since the beginning of the VDP Auctions in 1910, a net hammer-price of 10,600€.

The Auction of the VDP.Nahe & VDP.Ahr
will take place on
Sunday 23 September 2018
from 11.00–13.00 at the Römerhalle in Bad Kreuznach.

Bids can be submitted as of now to the auction agent, either via the VDP-office – info@vdp-nahe.de – or via the estate – k.peter@gut-hermannsberg.de

More information concerning the auction as well as the auction catalogue can be found here

More details about this wine and its history can be found here

PICTURES (downloadable)
Mehr entdecken

Karsten Peter at Gut Hermannsberg is Winegrower of the Year!

(German) Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung picks their favourites of 2016:

For six years now, Karsten Peter has been responsible for the wines of Gut Hermannsberg/Nahe (Germany). Even with his first couple vintages, Karsten attracted plenty of attention, sending up exclamation points in the press. In 2013, the renowned Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung (FAZ) honoured him as ‘Rising Star Winemaker of the Year’ and the German Gault

Learn more

24.11.2016

Gut Hermannsberg is a ‘Winery to Watch’

Fabulous accolade for the VDP estate Gut Hermannsberg

There are only twelve wine estates that the US magazine Wine & Spirits identifies as particularly noteworthy in their just-published Annual Buying Guide for 2016 – Gut Hermannsberg is one of them: a winery to watch.

Learn more

27.10.2016

Historic highest price for a 100-point wine…

Gut Hermannsberg sets the crown on the VDP Auction!

Extreme selection yields extreme concentration! The 2015 Trockenbeerenauslese from Gut Hermannsberg, harvested from old Riesling vines in the vineyard Kupfergrube, provides a splendidly magnificent example of this. Wine critic Stephan Reinhardt tasted the wine for Robert Parker’s Wine Advocate and scored it, quite simply, with 100 points. The highest score on the scale, which is

Learn more

22.09.2017

Deutsch  |  English
NEWS

“Ask Wine&Partners.
They know how to do it.”

Peter-Jordan-Straße 6/3
1190 Wien

+43 1 369 79 900
office@wine-partners.at
  | Suche

Historischer Sensationswein von Gut Hermannsberg wird versteigert

Die letzte Flasche der 1921er Kupfergrube

03.09.2018

Der Jahrgang gilt in ganz Europa als einer der besten des 20. Jahrhunderts. In den deutschen Weinbaugebieten ist 1921 vielleicht sogar der größte Jahrgang überhaupt. Wer einen Wein aus diesem Jahr findet, zögert nicht. Allzu viele Flaschen aus 1921 sind allerdings nicht mehr auf dem Markt. Kein Wunder, wenn man die historische Bedeutung betrachtet:

Gut Hermannsberg Trockenbeerenauslese 1921 © Gut Hermannsberg
Eine historische Rarität von unschätzbarem Wert: 1921er Schlossböckelheimer Kupfergrube TBA (Nahe). © Gut Hermannsberg

Aus Trümmern geboren
Nach den Kriegsjahren 1914 bis 1918 war Deutschland ruiniert. Wie viele andere Wirtschaftsbereiche lag auch der Weinbau darnieder. Weinberge, Keller, Strukturen und Märkte mussten unter großen Mühen wiederaufgebaut werden. Außerdem war Deutschland als Kriegsverlierer zu immensen Reparationszahlungen verpflichtet – aber nicht in der Lage, diese zu leisten. Als Pfand besetzten die Alliierten Mächte die Gebiete entlang des Rheins.

Mit Glück gerettet
Auch die Nahe war französisch besetzt, und die Weine der Preussischen Weinbaudomäne Niederhausen Schlossböckelheim (heute Gut Hermannsberg) aus dem Ausnahmejahrgang 1921 wären der französischen Administration zugefallen. Den Verwaltern der Domäne gelang es aber rechtzeitig vor dem französischen Zugriff, die Weine ins unbesetzte Frankfurt zu verkaufen, so dass sie in Deutschland blieben.

Dem Präsidenten gereicht
Als die deutsche Staatsführung nach langen und detailreichen Verhandlungen den Abzug der Besatzungsmächte erreichte, galt der damalige Reichspräsident von Hindenburg als einer der Väter dieses Erfolges. Bei einem großen Befreiungsfest in Köln wurde er gefeiert und geehrt. Nicht zufällig reichte man einen Wein der Preussischen Weinbaudomäne: Seine Vorliebe für das besondere Gut war bekannt. Bei diesem Fest am 21. März 1926 servierte man eine 1921er Trockenbeerenauslese Kupfergrube.

Weinmacher Karsten Peter verkorkte die Flasche vor zwei Jahren neu. Der Originalkork wird der Flasche beigelegt. © Gut Hermannsberg

Die letzte Flasche
In der Schatzkammer von Gut Hermannsberg liegt noch eine Flasche dieses Weines, der gleichzeitig ein historisches Dokument und einen phänomenalen Jahrgang repräsentiert. Den Flaschenhals ziert eine Banderole, auf der zu lesen ist: „Dem Herrn Reichspräsidenten General Feldmarschall von Hindenburg bei der Befreiungsfeier in Köln am 21. März 1926 zum Ehrentrunk gereicht.“

Mit großer Kunst vinifiziert
Als Karsten Peter, Betriebsleiter und Önologe von Gut Hermannsberg, die Flasche vor zwei Jahren neu verkorkte und dabei den Zustand des Weines testete, war er ob seiner Dichte, Komplexität und Frische erstaunt. „Der Wein ist frisch wie der junge Morgen!“ ist jubelte der Kellermeister. Dabei ist diese TBA fürwahr kein Leichtgewicht. Für das Prädikat Trockenbeerenauslese sind 150 Grad Oechsle erforderlich – die TBA aus 1921 hat diesen Wert doppelt übertroffen. „Es war eine Meisterleistung meines Vorgängers, diesen Wein bei 308 Grad Oechsle perfekt durch den Prozess der Gärung zu geleiten“, ist Karsten Peter beeindruckt.

Ein Unikat – in jeder Hinsicht
Die Trockenbeerenauslese Kupfergrube aus dem Jahrgang 1921 ist ein Unikat: historisch, qualitativ und emotional.
Es ist zu erwarten, dass Gut Hermannsberg mit dieser Flasche einen neuen Versteigerungsrekord erreichen wird – nachdem eine TBA des Jahrgangs 2015 im Vorjahr mit einem Netto-Zuschlagspreis von 10.600 Euro den höchsten Preis seit Beginn der VDP Versteigerungen im Jahr 1910 erzielt hatte.

Die Versteigerung des VDP-Regionen Nahe, Rheingau und Ihr
findet am Sonntag, 23. September 2018 von 11 bis 13 Uhr in der Römerhalle Bad Kreuznach statt.

Gebote können ab sofort an die Kommissionäre gelegt werden und zwar entweder über das VDP-Büro info@vdp-nahe.de oder über das Weingut k.peter@gut-hermannsberg.de

Mehr Infos zur Auktion sowie den Auktionskatalog finden Sie hier

Weitere Details zum Wein und seiner Geschichte finden Sie hier.

BILDER (downloadbar)
Mehr entdecken

Karsten Peter von Gut Hermannsberg ist „Winzer des Jahres“

FAZ kürt "Lieblinge 2016":

Seit sechs Jahrgängen zeichnet Karsten Peter für die Weine von Gut Hermannsberg verantwortlich. Bereits mit seinen ersten eigenen Jahrgängen setzte er Ausrufezeichen. Die Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung (FAZ) zeichnete ihn 2013 als „Aufsteiger-Winzer des Jahres“, der Gault Millau Guide als „Aufsteiger des Jahres“ aus. Nun kürte die FAZ Karsten Peter zum „Winzer des Jahres 2016“. Als Kellermeister

Weiterlesen

24.11.2016

Gut Hermannsberg ist „Winery to watch“

Fabulous accolade for the VDP estate Gut Hermannsberg

Es sind nur zwölf Weingüter, die das US Magazin Wine&Spirits im soeben publizierten Annual Buying Guide 2016 als beachtenswert identifiziert: Gut Hermannsberg ist eines davon: „A Winery to Watch“.

Weiterlesen

27.10.2016

Historic highest price for a 100-point wine…

Gut Hermannsberg sets the crown on the VDP Auction!

Leider ist der Eintrag nur auf Amerikanisches Englisch verfügbar.

Weiterlesen

22.09.2017