Deutsch  |  English
NEWS

"Ask Wine&Partners.
They know how to do it"

Peter-Jordan-Straße 6/3
1190 Wien

+43 1 369 79 900
office@wine-partners.at
  | Suche

The Österreichische Traditionsweingüter with two new regions...

A notable moment for the Traditionsweingüter

14.06.2018

The winegrower’s association Österreichische Traditionsweingüter, founded in 1992 and since then occupied with the process and systemisation of vineyard classification, has just received reinforcements. Up until now, the group included a total of thirty-six wine estates in the Donauraum/Danube River Region (Traisental, Kamptal, Kremstal & Wagram). Now, two further wineproducing regions – Wien and Carnuntum – have joined the ranks to add their efforts to the classification process. With this, the number of member estates has grown with a single stroke to sixty-two.

The three chairmen: Gerhard Markowitsch (ÖTW Carnuntum), Michael Moosbrugger (ÖTW Donau) and Fritz Wieninger (ÖTW Wien)

Making the significance and the potential of exceptional vineyard sites more easily understandable…
Ten wine estates from Kamptal and Kremstal have been discussing the subject since 1990, how winegrowers can more effectively communicate the special potential of outstanding single-vineyard sites to the consumer. As a logical consequence of these discussions, in 1992 they formed a group chaired by Willi Bründlmayer, the Österreichische Traditionsweingüter. Continuing their investigations, these growers observed and evaluated their single-vineyard wines for nearly two decades. Finally in 2010, they – the number of participating estates had meanwhile grown to nearly thirty – first released their findings concerning which vineyard sites should henceforth be entitled to bear the designation Erste Lage. Overall, a total of sixty vineyards in the Danube River Region have in the meantime been designated as ÖTW.ERSTE LAGE.

 

A notable moment in the Hofburg Palace…
In a press conference, held under the auspices of the biennial wine festival VieVinum in Vienna, the new structure – an umbrella organisation with three regional associations – was introduced, last week.

The ÖTW now has a total of sixty-two member wine estates. The umbrella organisation of the ÖTW stands under the leadership of Michael Moosbrugger (Schloss Gobelsburg), who will also serve as chairman of the regional association Donauraum.

There is a group of six wine estates in Wien/Vienna, chaired by Fritz Wieninger, who have already in recent years laid the groundwork for their vineyard classification, and now begin the actual process with a total of twelve ÖTW.ERSTE LAGE vineyard sites among the membership.

The ÖTW regional association for Carnuntum is led by grower Gerhard Markowitsch. Here, an even twenty estates have joined the process. A scientific & geologic research programme has been underway in Carnuntum for some ten years, which will be incorporated into the process of classification. The growers of Carnuntum, though, wish to take their time with vineyard classification. This will even possibly lead to simultaneous establishment of a DAC Carnuntum, which is now in the planning stage as well.

There are currently seventy-two vineyards (sixty in the Danube Region and twelve in Vienna) classified as ÖTW.ERSTE LAGE. The work in determining which sites should be recognised as GROSSE LAGE will require a bit of time yet, imagining results in this regard to manifest themselves during the next ten years.

A notable moment in Vienna’s Hofburg Palace: members of the press, sommeliers and wine merchants from all over the world took part in the conference with the Österreichische Traditionsweingüter.

Pioneers, not ‘elites’…
Michael Moosbrugger explains: ‘Our goal is, that the classification of vineyards sites – in Austrian German the word is “Ried”, plural “Rieden” – will acquire legal status over the intermediate term’. With this, the classifications would not just be the private statutory affair of the winegrowers’ associations but become legally defined cadastral categories, which would apply to all wine-producing estates in Austria.
Thus the Traditionsweingüter regard themselves not as an elite club, but far more as the pioneering band of researchers, investigating and collecting data that will offer fundamental benefits for the entire community of Austrian winegrowers.

Österreichische Traditionsweingüter Logo Erste Lagen
Logo of Österreichische Traditionsweingüter (ÖTW)

Members of Österreichische Traditionsweingüter (ÖTW)

Regionalverein Donau
1 Weingut Allram www.allram.at
2 Weingut Brandl www.weingut-brandl.at
3 Weingut Bründlmayer www.bruendlmayer.at
4 Weingut Buchegger www.buchegger.at
5 Weingut Dolle www.dolle.at
6 Weingut Ludwig Ehn www.ehnwein.at
7 Weingut Eichinger www.weingut-eichinger.at
8 Weinberghof Fritsch www.fritsch.cc
9 Bio-Weingut Geyerhof www.geyerhof.at
10 Weingut Hiedler www.hiedler.at
11 Weingut Hirsch www.weingut-hirsch.at
12 Weingut Markus Huber www.weingut-huber.at
13 Weingut Jurtschitsch www.jurtschitsch.com
14 Weingut Leindl www.weingutleindl.at
15 Weingut Leth www.weingut-leth.at
16 Weingut Fred Loimer www.loimer.at
17 Weingut Malat www.malat.at
18 Weingut Mantlerhof www.mantlerhof.com
19 Weingut Hermann Moser www.moser-hermann.at
20 Weingut Sepp Moser www.sepp-moser.at
21 Weingut Ludwig Neumayer www.weinvomstein.at
22 Weingut Nigl www.weingutnigl.at
23 Weingut Bernhard Ott www.ott.at
24 Weingut Franz und Andrea Proidl www.proidl.com
25 Weingut Salomon Undhof www.salomonwines.com
26 Weingut Schloss Gobelsburg www.gobelsburg.at
27 Weingut Josef Schmid www.j-schmid.at
28 Weingut Stadt Krems www.weingutstadtkrems.at
29 Weingut Steininger www.weingut-steininger.at
30 Weingut Stift Göttweig www.weingutstiftgoettweig.at
31 Weingut Thiery-Weber www.thiery-weber.at
32 Weingut Johann Topf www.weingut-topf.at
33 Weingut Türk www.weinguttuerk.at
34 Weingut Petra Unger www.ungerwein.at
35 Weingut Wess www.weingut-wess.at
36 Weingut Weszeli www.weszeli.at

Regionalverein Wien
37 Weingut Christ www.weingut-christ.at
38 Weingut Wien Cobenzl www.weingutcobenzl.at
39 Weingut Edlmoser www.edlmoser.com
40 Weingut Fuhrgassl-Huber www.fuhrgassl-huber.at
41 Weingut Mayer am Pfarrplatz www.pfarrplatz.at
42 Weingut Fritz Wieninger www.wieninger.at

Regionalverein Carnuntum
43 Weingut Michael Auer www.weingut-auer.com
44 Weingut Fam. Artner www.artner.co.at
45 Weingut Johann Böheim www.gut-boeheim.at
46 Weinbau Christian Dietrich christian.dietrich@aon.at
47 Weinkeller Walter Glatzer www.weingutglatzer.at
48 Weinbau Günther Glock wein.glock@gmx.at
49 Weingut Gottschuly-Grassl www.gottschuly.at
50 Weingut Philipp Grassl www.weingut-grassl.com
51 Weingut Lukas Markowitsch www.lukas-markowitsch.com
52 Weingut Gerhard Markowitsch www.markowitsch.at
53 Weingut Muhr-van der Niepoort
54 Weingut Franz und Christine Netzl www.netzl.com
55 Weingut Martin Netzl www.netzl.net
56 Weingut Franz Oppelmayer www.oppelmayer.at
57 Weingut Robert Payr www.weingut-payr.at
58 Weingut Franz Taferner www.tafi.at
59 Weingut Johannes Trapl www.trapl.com
60 Weinbau Horst u. Irene Pelzmann weingut.pelzmann@aon.at
61 Weingut Gerhard Pimpel www.gerhardpimpel.at
62 Weinkellerei Hans Pitnauer www.pitnauer.com

Download of presentation documents: https://bit.ly/2LsvKde

PICTURES (downloadable)