Deutsch  |  English
NEWS

"Ask Wine&Partners.
They know how to do it"

Peter-Jordan-Straße 6/3
1190 Wien

+43 1 369 79 900
office@wine-partners.at
  | Suche

Preview tasting for wine professionals

The secret’s in the site

29.07.2019

For three days, international wine experts will be offered the opportunity to taste all the Erste Lage wines of the growers’ association Österreichische Traditionsweingüter – in peace & quiet with optimum concentration – before they are released to the market. 200 wines from 81 Erste Lage sites, from a total of 64 Österreichische Traditionsweingüter member estates, will be available for tasting from 3–5 September 2019.

ÖTW Erste Lagen Vineyard © ÖTW
Experience the differences that distinguish the sites | Photo © ÖTW

It’s all about the vineyard site
The trend towards production of single-vineyard wines with a distinctive sense of origin is recognisable worldwide. It is the vineyard site that determines distinctiveness, potential for maturing, character & aromaticity (if the winegrower allows it to happen!). On the Austrian wine scene, the Österreichische Traditionsweingüter are the pioneers of vineyard classification. Thanks to their annual preview tasting in Grafenegg Castle, experts such as sommeliers, wine merchants, journalists and wine critics can experience the development of the single-vineyard process up close & personally.

Experience matters
No one in Austria has more experience in the classification of vineyards than the ÖTW. In a process of observation, analysis & evaluation lasting many years, the ÖTW winegrowers meticulously determined exactly which were their most significant vineyard sites. In the process, vineyards were identified whose wines achieve prominent market presence and demonstrably positive rankings over an extended period of time. Each vintage is evaluated, researched and examined in depth. With a magnifying glass: some previously categorised Erste Lage sites have had this evaluation rescinded.

Vineyard site classification is about significance. Michael Moosbrugger, chairman of the Österreichische Traditionsweingüter, is quite clear about this, saying: ‘The same and equal quality is not found everywhere where vines are planted. Everybody knows that there are vineyards that consistently produce exceptional wines each year, while somewhere nearby perhaps only good or mediocre wines are vinified’. The essential thing is the interplay of soil structure, rainfall, air currents, exposition, elevation, and of course the temperature evolution throughout the vegetation cycle – and especially the relative temperature difference between day & night.

ÖTW Erste Lagen Silent Tasting © ÖTW
The Silent Tasting: with total concentration, at one’s own tempo | Photo © ÖTW
ÖTW Schloss Grafenegg und Wolkenturm © ÖTW
The Wolkenturm (‘cloud-tower’) in Grafenegg Castle Park | Photo © Alexander Haiden

64 Österreichische Traditionsweingüter Estates | 81 Erste Lage Vineyards | 200 Wines
Up for tasting are the white wines of 2018 and red wines (from Carnuntum) of the 2017 vintage. Places for the tasting can be booked from 9.00–13.00 and from 14.00–18 00. This tasting at Grafenegg Castle – about 60 km from Vienna – has been organised to the highest professional standard: all 200 wines from the 64 Österreichische Traditionsweingüter estates are perfectly arranged, brought to ideal tasting temperature and organised according to vineyard. Tasters can sample them according to their own rhythm and in their own chosen order – and thus concentrate entirely on the depth and complexity of the wines, without being distracted by logistical necessities. And if one wants to give the palate a bit of a break, a stroll in the magnificent park of Grafenegg Castle offers the perfect opportunity.

ÖTW Erste Lagen Preview
3–5 September 2019
Grafenegg Castle
www.traditionsweingueter.at

Sommeliers, specialised press and the international trade are welcome to attend the tasting, organised exclusively for wine professionals. It is necessary, though, to book a seat beforehand. When choosing your slots, please keep in mind that it will take time to concentrate and evaluate 200 wines. You may reserve your place here & now:

A | 3 SEPTEMBER, 9.00 – 13.00 B | 3 SEPTEMBER, 14.00 – 18.00

C | 4 SEPTEMBER, 9.00 – 13.00 D | 4 SEPTEMBER, 14.00 – 18.00

E | 5 SEPTEMBER, 9.00 – 13.00 F | 5 SEPTEMBER, 14.00 – 18.00

ÖTW Erste Lagen - Silent Tasting © Jürgen Schmücking
The ÖTW compass: the emblem of Erste Lage wines | Photo © Jürgen Schmücking
ÖTW Mitglieder © Herbert Lehmann
The 81 current members of the Österreichische Traditionsweingüter | Photo © Herbert Lehmann

About the Österreichische Traditionsweingüter:

The association of Österreichische Traditionsweingüter was founded in the year 1992 under the aegis of Kamptal winegrower Willi Bründlmayer. The objective of the organisation was that of classifying the vineyard sites along the Danube River (Traisental, Kremstal, Kamptal & Wagram). The first Erste Lage sites were presented to the public in 2010, and since then the process has continued every year. In 2018 the regions Wien and Carnuntum became a part of the movement. Sixty- four wine estates currently hold membership in the Österreichische Traditionsweingüter, with a total of eighty-one Erste Lage sites.

Members of the Österreichische Traditionweingüter:

Regional Association Danube River
Weingut Allram | Weingut Brandl | Weingut Bründlmayer | Weingut Buchegger | Weingut Dolle | Weingut Ludwig Ehn | Weingut Eichinger | Weinberghof Fritsch | Bio-Weingut Geyerhof | Weingut Hiedler | Weingut Hirsch | Weingut Markus Huber | Weingut Jurtschitsch | Weingut Leindl | Weingut Leth | Weingut Fred Loimer | Weingut Malat | Weingut Mantlerhof | Weingut Hermann Moser | Weingut Sepp Moser  Weingut Ludwig Neumayer | Weingut Nigl | Weingut Bernhard Ott | Weingut Franz und Andrea Proidl | Weingut Salomon Undhof | Weingut Schloss Gobelsburg | Weingut Josef Schmid | Weingut Stadt Krems | Weingut Steininger | Weingut Stift Göttweig  Weingut Thiery-Weber | Weingut Johann Topf | Weingut Türk | Weingut Petra Unger | Weingut Wess | Weingut Weszeli

Regional Association Wien
Weingut Christ | Weingut Wien Cobenzl | Weingut Edlmoser | Weingut Fuhrgassl-Huber | Weingut Haijszan Neumann |Weingut Mayer am Pfarrplatz | Weingut Rotes Haus | Weingut Fritz Wieninger

Regional Association Carnuntum
Weingut Michael Auer | Weingut Fam. Artner | Weingut Johann Böheim | Weinbau Christian Dietrich | Weinkeller Walter Glatzer | Weinbau Günther Glock | Weingut Gottschuly-Grassl | Weingut Philipp Grassl | Weingut Lukas Markowitsch | Weingut Gerhard Markowitsch | Weingut Muhr-van der Niepoort | Weingut Franz und Christine Netzl | Weingut Martin Netzl | Weingut Franz Oppelmayer | Weingut Robert Payr | Weingut Franz Taferner | Weingut Johannes Trapl | Weinbau Horst u. Irene Pelzmann | Weingut Gerhard Pimpel | Weinkellerei Hans Pitnauer

Deutsch  |  English
NEWS

“Ask Wine&Partners.
They know how to do it.”

Peter-Jordan-Straße 6/3
1190 Wien

+43 1 369 79 900
office@wine-partners.at
  | Suche

Preview-Tasting für Weinfachleute

Eine Frage der Lage

29.07.2019

Drei Tage lang wird internationalen Weinexperten die Möglichkeit geboten, sämtliche Erste Lage-Weine der Österreichischen Traditionsweingüter in Ruhe und konzentriert zu probieren, bevor sie auf den Markt kommen. 200 Weine aus 81 Ersten Lagen von insgesamt 64 Österreichischen Traditionsweingütern stehen von 3. bis 5. September 2019 zur Degustation bereit.

ÖTW Erste Lagen Vineyard © ÖTW
Die Unterschiede der Lagen auch erleben | Foto © ÖTW

Auf die Lage kommt es an
Der Trend zu Einzellagenweinen mit unverwechselbarem Herkunftscharakter ist weltweit erkennbar. Es ist die Lage, die über Eigenständigkeit, Reifepotenzial, Charakter und Aromatik entscheidet – wenn der Winzer es zulässt. Die Österreichischen Traditionsweingüter sind die Pioniere der Lagenklassifizierung der österreichischen Weinszene. Dank der jährlichen Preview-Degustation in Schloss Grafenegg können Experten wie Sommeliers, Fachhändler und Weinkritiker die Entwicklung des Lagenprozesses hautnah miterleben.

Erfahrung zählt
Niemand in Österreich hat mehr Erfahrung in der Klassifizierung von Weinberglagen als die ÖTW. In einem jahrelangen Prozess der Beobachtung, Analyse und Bewertung haben die ÖTW-Winzer ihre bedeutendsten Weinberglagen akribisch herausgearbeitet. Dabei werden Rieden identifiziert, deren Weine über einen langen Zeitraum hindurch hochwertige Marktpräsenz und nachweislich hohe Bewertungen erreichen. Jedes Jahr wird evaluiert, ausgelotet und weiterentwickelt. Manchen Ersten Lagen wird der Titel auch wieder aberkannt.

Bei der Lagenklassifkation geht es um Signifikanz. “Nicht überall, wo Reben gepflanzt sind, wächst die gleiche Qualität heran.“ macht Michael Moosbrugger, der Obmann der Österreichischen Traditionsweingüter, deutlich. „Jeder weiß, dass es Weinberge gibt, die konstant jedes Jahr außergewöhnliche Weine hervorbringen, während woanders vielleicht nur einfach gute oder mittelmäßige Weine entstehen.“ Das wesentliche dabei ist das Zusammenspiel aus Bodenstruktur, Niederschlagsmenge, Luftströmungen, Exposition, Höhenlage und natürlich der Temperaturentwicklung im Laufe des Jahres und insbesondere zwischen Tag und Nacht.

ÖTW Erste Lagen Silent Tasting © ÖTW
Das Silent Tasting: Konzentriert und im eigenen Rhythmus | Foto © ÖTW
ÖTW Schloss Grafenegg und Wolkenturm © ÖTW
Der Wolkenturm im Grafenegger Schlosspark | Foto © Alexander Haiden

64 Österreichischen Traditionsweingüter – 81 Ersten Lagen – 200 Weine
Zur degustieren sind die Weissweine aus dem Jahrgang 2018 und die Rotweine (Carnuntum) aus dem Jahrgang 2017. Plätze für die Degustation können jeweils von 9-13 Uhr und von 14-18 Uhr gebucht werden. Hinter der Degustation, die in Schloss Grafenegg – rund 60 km von Wien entfernt – stattfindet, steht eine hochprofessionelle Organisation: alle 200 Weine der 64 Traditionsweingüter sind perfekt sortiert, ideal temperiert und nach Lagen geordnet vorbereitet. Die Verkoster können sie im eigenen Rhythmus und in selbst gewählter Reihenfolge ordern und sich ganz auf Tiefe und Komplexität der Weine konzentrieren, ohne von logistischen Notwendigkeiten abgelenkt zu werden. Wer zwischendurch dem Gaumen etwas Ruhe schenken möchte, kann dies im prächtigen Park von Schloss Grafenegg tun.

ÖTW Erste Lagen Preview
3.-5. September 2019
Schloss Grafenegg
www.traditionsweingueter.at

Die Degustation der Ersten Lagen wird exklusiv für Fachpublikum organisiert. Gastronomen, Sommeliers, Presse und Fachhändler aus aller Welt können  – nach vorheriger Buchung ihres Platzes – am Silent Tasting teilnehmen. Bei Interesse bitten wir Sie, sich möglichst umgehend anzumelden. Falls Sie weitere Fragen haben, wenden Sie sich an erstelagen@wine-partners.at.

200 Weine zu verkosten braucht Zeit. Bitte bedenken Sie dies bei der Wahl der Slots:  

A | 3 SEPTEMBER, 9.00 – 13.00 B | 3 SEPTEMBER, 14.00 – 18.00

C | 4 SEPTEMBER, 9.00 – 13.00 D | 4 SEPTEMBER, 14.00 – 18.00

E | 5 SEPTEMBER, 9.00 – 13.00 F | 5 SEPTEMBER, 14.00 – 18.00

ÖTW Erste Lagen - Silent Tasting © Jürgen Schmücking
Der ÖTW-Kompass: Das Erkennungsmerkmal der Erste Lagen Weine | Foto © Jürgen Schmücking
ÖTW Mitglieder © Herbert Lehmann
Die nunmehr 81 Mitglieder der Österreichischen Traditionsweingüter | Foto © Herbert Lehmann

Über die Österreichischen Traditionsweingüter:
Der Verein der Österreichischen Traditionsweingüter wurde im Jahr 1992 unter der Ägide des Kamptaler Winzers Willi Bründlmayer gegründet. Ziel der Vereinigung war es, die Weinbergslagen entlang der Donau (Traisental, Kremstal, Kamptal, Wagram) zu klassifizieren. Im Jahr 2010 wurden die ersten ÖTW.Ersten Lagen publiziert, und seither wird der Prozess jedes Jahr fortgesetzt. Die Regionen Wien und Carnuntum schlossen sich 2018 an. Derzeit sind insgesamt 81 Rieden als Erste Lagen klassifiziert. Die 200 Weine aus diesen Ersten Lagen stammen von 64 Mitgliedsbetrieben.
www.traditionweingueter.at

 

Mitglieder der Österreichischen Traditionsweingüter

Regionalverein Donau
Weingut Allram | Weingut Brandl | Weingut Bründlmayer | Weingut Buchegger | Weingut Dolle | Weingut Ludwig Ehn | Weingut Eichinger | Weinberghof Fritsch | Bio-Weingut Geyerhof | Weingut Hiedler | Weingut Hirsch | Weingut Markus Huber | Weingut Jurtschitsch | Weingut Leindl | Weingut Leth | Weingut Fred Loimer | Weingut Malat | Weingut Mantlerhof | Weingut Hermann Moser | Weingut Sepp Moser  Weingut Ludwig Neumayer | Weingut Nigl | Weingut Bernhard Ott | Weingut Franz und Andrea Proidl | Weingut Salomon Undhof | Weingut Schloss Gobelsburg | Weingut Josef Schmid | Weingut Stadt Krems | Weingut Steininger | Weingut Stift Göttweig  Weingut Thiery-Weber | Weingut Johann Topf | Weingut Türk | Weingut Petra Unger | Weingut Wess | Weingut Weszeli

Regionalverein Wien
Weingut Christ | Weingut Wien Cobenzl | Weingut Edlmoser | Weingut Fuhrgassl-Huber | Weingut Haijszan Neumann | Weingut Mayer am Pfarrplatz | Weingut Rotes Haus | Weingut Fritz Wieninger

Regionalverein Carnuntum
Weingut Michael Auer | Weingut Artner | Weingut Johann Böheim | Weinbau Christian Dietrich | Weingut Walter Glatzer | Weinbau Günther Glock | Weingut Gottschuly-Grassl | Weingut Philipp Grassl | Weingut Lukas Markowitsch | Weingut Gerhard Markowitsch | Weingut Muhr-van der Niepoort | Weingut Franz und Christine Netzl | Weingut Martin Netzl | Weingut Franz Oppelmayer | Weingut Robert Payr | Weingut Taferner | Weingut Johannes Trapl | Weinbau Horst u. Irene Pelzmann | Weingut Gerhard Pimpel | Weingut Familie Pitnauer