Deutsch  |  English
NEWS

"Ask Wine&Partners.
They know how to do it"

Peter-Jordan-Straße 6/3
1190 Wien

+43 1 369 79 900
office@wine-partners.at
  | Suche

Two estates from the Aalentejo among the top ten wines of Portugal

Portugal’s best red wine comes from the Alentejo

11.03.2016

The best red wine in Portugal was selected at the thirteenth Essência do Vinho, Portugal’s most prestigious wine event. The Grande Reserva Alicante Bouschet 2012 from Júlio Bastos (Quinta Dona Maria, Alentejo) has won the coveted trophy, awarded at the end of February in Oporto. Two out of the four wines nominated for this top award had been produced in the wine region Alentejo.

Alentejo Winemakers © Jeronimo Heitor Coelho
Winemaker Sandra Gonçalves and Júlio Bastos from Quinta de Dona Maria (c) Jerónimo Heitor Coelho

The ten best wines of Portugal were chosen by an international tasting panel at the end of February in the ‘Salão Árabe do Palácio da Bolsa’, out of a total of fifty-three eligible possibilities. The region Alentejo shared the winners’ circle with a white wine from the Douro and a Madeira. The victorious wine, Grande Reserva Alicante Bouschet 2012 (monovarietal), comes from Júlio Bastos (Dona Maria) from Estremoz in the Alentejo. The red wine that won fourth place was also produced in the Alentejo, Maladinha Nova 2013, from the estate Herdade da Malhadinha Nova.

Alicante Bouschet shows its stuff

It is certainly worth mentioning the parallel between the two winning Alentejano wines: both were vinified from the grape variety Alicante Bouschet. Although not an indigenous vine, the Alicante has found a new home in the southern Portuguese region Alentejo, where it is highly prized for its intrinsic qualities. Alicante Bouschet stands for high-toned robust, deeply coloured and opulent wines; its aromatic profile includes scents of berry fruit, cocoa and black olives. As of 2014 the variety counted for 12.5% of the total area under vines for red wine in the growing region Alentejo.

Alicante Bouschet among the 50 most exciting wines of 2015

Also – at the beginning of the year, renowned wine critics from Robert Parker’s Wine Advocate picked the Alicante Bouschet 2012 from Júlio Bastos as one of the fifty most exciting new releases, praised for its quality, individualistic character and pure hedonistic appeal.

 

General information about the wine region Alentejo is available at:
www.tasting-mediterranean.com and www.vinhosdoalentejo.pt

If you have an editorial interest in the Alentejo, please contact Caroline Derler at:
c.derler@wine-partners.at or +43 369 79 90 14

PICTURES (downloadable)

Deutsch  |  English
NEWS

“Ask Wine&Partners.
They know how to do it.”

Peter-Jordan-Straße 6/3
1190 Wien

+43 1 369 79 900
office@wine-partners.at
  | Suche

Zwei Weingüter aus dem Alentejo unter den Top zehn Weinen Portugals

Der beste Rotwein Portugals kommt aus dem Alentejo

11.03.2016

Bei der 13. „Essência do Vinho“, Portugals renommiertestem Wein-Event, wurde Ende Februar in Porto der beste Rotwein Portugals gekürt: die Grande Reserva Alicante Bouschet 2012 von Júlio Bastos (Quinta Dona Maria, Alentejo) ist der große Gewinner der Trophy. Zwei von vier nominierten Rotweinen kommen aus der Weinregion Alentejo.

Alentejo Winemakers © Jeronimo Heitor Coelho
Önologin Sandra Gonçalves und Júlio Bastos von der Quinta de Dona Maria © Jerónimo Heitor Coelho

Ende Februar wurden in Porto die zehn besten Weine Portugals von einem internationalen Verkostungs-Panel aus insgesamt 53 portugiesischen Weinen im „Salão Árabe do Palácio da Bolsa“ gewählt. Die Region Alentejo teilte sich das Sieger-Podest mit einem Weißwein aus dem Douro und einem Madeira. Der Gewinnerwein „Grande Reserva Alicante Bouschet 2012“ (reinsortig) kommt von Júlio Bastos aus Estremoz im Alentejo. Ebenfalls aus dem Alentejo stammt der Rotwein „Maladinha Nova 2013“ (Platz 4) von der Herdade da Malhadinha Nova.

Alicante Bouschet zeigt ihr Können

Erwähnenswert ist die Parallele der zwei alentejanischen Gewinner-Weine: beide wurden aus der Rebsorte Alicante Bouschet gekeltert. Obwohl die Rebsorte nicht autochthon ist, hat sie in der südportugiesischen Region Alentejo eine neue Heimat gefunden, in der sie aufgrund ihrer Eigenschaften sehr geschätzt wird. Alicante Bouschet steht für kraftvolle, farb-intensive, voluminöse Weine mit viel Spannung. Die Aromen der Rebsorte umfassen Beerenfrüchte, Kakao und schwarze Oliven.  2014 machte die Rebsorte in der Weinbauregion Alentejo 12,5 % der Rotwein-Gesamtfläche aus.

Alicante Bouschet unter den 50 spannendsten Weinen 2015

Auch die renommierten Weinkritiker von Rober Parkers Wine Advocate kürten Anfang des Jahres den „Alicante Bouschet 2012“ von Júlio Bastos aufgrund von Qualität, Individualität und hedonistischer Attraktivität zu einer der 50 spannendsten Neu-Erscheinungen.

Weine aus dem Alentejo auf der ProWein 2016

Mediterranean Tasting
13. – 15. März 2016, Düsseldorf

Meisterklassen mit Star Sommelier Justin Leone jeden Tag um 13.00 Uhr/ Halle 10/E 22.

Alentejo Klassiker: Sonntag, 13. März, 13.00 Uhr
Alentejo Kultweine: Montag, 14. März, 13.00 Uhr
Alentejo – Walk on the wild side: Dienstag, 15. März, 13.00 Uhr

#tastemed with Justin Leone!

Allgemeine Informationen zur Weinregion Alentejo finden Sie unter:
 www.tasting-mediterranean.com und www.vinhosdoalentejo.pt

BILDER (downloadbar)