Deutsch  |  English
NEWS

"Ask Wine&Partners.
They know how to do it"

Peter-Jordan-Straße 6/3
1190 Wien

+43 1 369 79 900
office@wine-partners.at
  | Suche

A new tool for the hospitality industry

Learn, Play, Grow with Somm360

27.10.2020

Together with top sommeliers and wine experts from around the globe, Somm360 have designed a free-to-play educational platform for mobile, tablet, and desktop microlearning that not only educates but rolls out a barrel of vinous fun for all who choose to participate. The content team is constantly creating rich daily content and quizzes on a myriad of topics, with different difficulty levels. Somm360 invites the world to challenge each daily quiz creator as it opens up its 90-day inaugural season at  www.somm360.com

In this difficult time for our industry, it was important to us that we create an accessible platform, free of charge, where everyone can join, anytime, anywhere, everywhere, from their mobile to their desktop. We are committed to offering equal opportunities for all learners, no matter their location, background, and skill set” explains Somm360 founder Vincent Lafortune.

Since 2018 Lafortune successfully developed a program of symposiums, workshops, and tastings in cities around the world in order to give sommeliers the opportunity to learn from their peers and to prepare specifically for competitions.

Somm360 - Vincent Lafortune 2020
Vincent Lafortune founder of Somm360 | photo © Andre Olivier Lyra

“With Somm360’s new online interface, we really wanted to capture some of that sense of camaraderie we felt with our Somm360 events.”

Over 60 wine industry leaders have already partnered with SOMM360 to create a truly global team, with a promise to deliver high-quality, in-depth content for this online initiative, while supporting the hospitality industry worldwide.

Here are just a handful of them:

Somm360 - Katja Scharnagl

Katja Scharnagl, Chef Sommelier at Le Bernardin, Advanced Sommelier CMS, NYC

“I am honoured to be a quiz creator for Somm360, a platform I deeply admire. Ongoing education is so important right now, and Somm360’s new website really helps to keep us on our toes. Fun educational quizzes and brief but super-informative microlearning modules on many different topics are a great way to start the day. Keep learning!”

SOMM360 - Guillermo Cruz

Guillermo Cruz, Restaurant General Manager at Ambivium Restaurant, Advanced Sommelier CMS, Peñafiel

“Somm360 is having a serious impact on the wine industry worldwide. They’re changing the rules in order to support the Sommelier community, shining bright lights upon what could be viewed as a very dark situation. Their leadership, pushing people to see the possibility of a more beautiful future, is absolutely inspiring.”

“It was great to collaborate with Somm360 and their new educational program; having me create a 30-question quiz around Rioja (plus 10 bonus questions of my choosing) is such an innovative way to share my knowledge and passion for the subject with people from all over the world… it’s a truly amazing initiative.”

Somm360 - Nabilah Rawji

Nabilah Rawji, Former Wine Director for Shangri-La Hotel, Advanced Sommelier CMS, Toronto

“Keeping your wine knowledge sharp is a priority for sommeliers, but these are usually resources that are behind a paywall. Somm360 is doing an exceptional job in recognizing the needs of the sommelier community during this challenging time by making high-quality educational content available for free. I love that somms are being involved in the project as content/quiz creators as it makes the platform very community-based.”

Somm360 - Reeze Cho 2020

Reeze Choi, 16th of the 2019 Best Sommelier of the World Competition, Advanced Sommelier CMS, Hong Kong

“Current global challenges may stop us from gathering physically, but it shouldn’t stop us from gathering virtually to exchange knowledge and insights. This new initiative doesn’t just allow me to share knowledge, for me it is also an education in itself. I am honoured to be part of Somm360’s new learning facilitator team.”

The Somm360 Education Fund
In conjunction with the rollout of this new online initiative, the organization launches the Somm360 Education Fund. Its objective is to raise $1M in the next 24 months, with all the money to be used to help sommeliers worldwide so they can continue to learn and grow as the hospitality sector navigates the uncertain waters of the coming years.

Coravin and Founder & Inventor Greg Lambrecht support the project: until the end of 2020, anyone shopping at coravin.com can use the Coravin Collective Code “CCSomm36020” to receive a 10% discount on their purchase, with the Somm360 Fund receiving a 15% donation courtesy of Coravin.

“A special thanks also goes to François Chartier and Wakana Tabata from Tanaka 1789 x Chartier for their commitment to donate 30,000 USD from the sales of their sake projects to the Somm360 Education Fund. We invite all the other organizations to follow their vision”, says Lafortune.

Knowledge partners
Somm360 is proud to partner with top leading industry brands and regions. These partnerships allow Somm360 to offer unique employment opportunities for sommeliers worldwide while curating high-quality content for this new online initiative to support the hospitality industry:

  • Coravin
  • Bordeaux Wine Council
  • François Chartier Créateur d’harmonies
  • Japan Sake & Shochu Makers Association
  • Les Domaines Paul Mas
  • Maison M. Chapoutier
  • Masi Agricola
  • Sweet Bordeaux
  • Tanaka 1789 x Chartier
  • Wines of Rías Baixas
SOMM360 - Your Educational Partner 2020

Deutsch  |  English
NEWS

“Ask Wine&Partners.
They know how to do it.”

Peter-Jordan-Straße 6/3
1190 Wien

+43 1 369 79 900
office@wine-partners.at
  | Suche

Neues Trainingstool für Sommeliers und Weinliebhaber

Learn, Play, Grow mit Somm360

27.10.2020

In enger Zusammenarbeit mit internationalen Top-Sommeliers und Weinexperten hat Somm360 eine kostenlose Lernplattform fürs Handy, Tablet und für den PC entwickelt. Das Online-Tool hilft nicht nur beim Lernen, sondern bietet auch jede Menge Spaß für alle User. Das Content-Team liefert jeden Tag eine Unmenge an hoch qualitativen Inhalten mit unterschiedlichen Schwierigkeitsgraden für das Quiz. Somm360 lädt alle Interessierten ein auf  www.Somm360.com mitzumachen.

»In dieser,  für unsere Branche, äußerst schwierigen Zeit war es uns wichtig, eine kostenlose und barrierefreie Plattform zu kreieren, auf der jeder Mensch zu jeder Zeit und überall, ob mit Handy oder PC, mitmachen kann.«, erklärt Somm360-Gründer Vincent Lafortune.

Seit 2018 hat Lafortune erfolgreich ein Programm mit Symposien, Workshops und Verkostungen in Städten rund um den Globus entwickelt. Dieses bietet Sommeliers die Möglichkeit, von ihren Kollegen zu lernen – und sich vor allem effektiv auf Wettbewerbe vorzubereiten.

Somm360 - Vincent Lafortune 2020
Somm360 Gründer Vincent Lafortune | Foto © Andre Olivier Lyra

»Mit der neuen Online-Schnittstelle von Somm360, wollten wir unbedingt ein bisschen vom Gefühl der Kameradschaft einfangen, das wir stets bei unseren Somm360-Veranstaltungen empfunden haben.«

Über 60 führende Profis der Weinbranche haben sich bereits mit SOMM360 verpartnert, um ein globales Team zu stellen, das verspricht, qualitativ hochwertigen und detaillierten Inhalt für diese Online-Initiative bereitzustellen, und gleichzeitig die Gastronomie weltweit zu unterstützen.

Hier sind nur einige davon:

Somm360 - Katja Scharnagl

Katja Scharnagl, Chefsommelière bei Le Bernardin, Advanced Sommelier CMS, NYC

»Ich fühle mich geehrt, eine Quizkomponistin für Somm360 zu sein, eine Plattform, die ich zutiefst bewundere. Fortdauernde Ausbildung ist derzeit sehr wichtig; die neue Website von Somm360 hilft uns wirklich dabei, auf dem Laufenden zu bleiben. Unterhaltsame erzieherische Ratespiel und kurze aber sehr informative Mikrolernmodule zu vielen verschiedenen Themen bilden einen guten Start in den Tag. Ganz nach dem Motto: Weiter lernen!«

SOMM360 - Guillermo Cruz

Guillermo Cruz, Geschäftsführer des Restaurants Ambivium, Advanced Sommelier CMS, Peñafiel

»Somm360 hat schon von Beginn an einen großen Impakt auf die Weinbranche weltweit gehabt. Sie unterstützen wirkungsvoll die Sommeliergemeinde weltweit und helfen dabei einen positiven Blickwinkel zu bewahren. Absolut inspirierend.«

»Es ist großartig, mit Somm360 für ihr neues Bildungsprogramm zusammenzuarbeiten. Wenn ich ein 30-Fragen-Quiz rund um Rioja (dazu 10 Bonusfragen meiner Wahl!) erstelle, ist dies eine innovative Möglichkeit, mein Wissen und meine Leidenschaft für das Thema mit Menschen aus der ganzen Welt zu teilen… es ist eine wirklich erstaunliche Initiative.«

Somm360 - Nabilah Rawji

Nabilah Rawji, ehemalige Weindirektorin des Shangri-La Hotels, Advanced Sommelier CMS, Toronto

»Sommeliers ist es ein großes Anliegen, ihr Weinwissen auf dem neuesten Stand zu halten. Meistens ist das mit hohen Kosten verbunden. Somm360 leistet in dieser herausfordernden Zeit eine hervorragende Pionierarbeit, indem qualitativ hochwertige Bildungsinhalte kostenlos zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Ich finde es einfach fabelhaft, dass Sommeliers als Content-/ Quizersteller an dem Projekt beteiligt sind, da die Plattform dadurch eine einzigartige Community bietet.«

Somm360 - Reeze Cho 2020

Reeze Choi, Advanced Sommelier CMS, Hongkong

»Globale Herausforderungen hinsichtlich der aktuellen Krise können uns ja leider daran hindern, live zusammen zutreffen – aber es sollte uns nicht davon abhalten, virtuell zusammen zu kommen, um unser Wissen und unsere Erfahrungen auszutauschen. Diese neue Initiative ermöglicht es mir nicht nur, mien Wissen mit meinen KollegInnen weltweit zu teilen; es ist auch eine wichtige Erfahrung für mich. Es ist mir eine Ehre, Teil des Teams von Somm360 zu sein.«

Der Somm360 Education Fund
In Verbindung mit der Lancierung dieser neuen Online-Initiative startet die Organisation den Somm360 Education Fund. Ziel ist es, in den nächsten 24 Monaten 1 Mio. USD aufzubringen, wobei das gesamte Geld verwendet wird, um Sommeliers weltweit zu helfen, damit sie weiter lernen und wachsen können, während der Gastgewerbesektor durch die unsicheren Gewässer der kommenden Jahre navigiert.

Greg Lambrecht von Coravin unterstützen das Projekt: bis Ende 2020 kann jeder, der bei coravin.com einkauft, den Coravin Collective Code „CCSomm36020“ verwenden, um 10 % Ermäßigung auf den Einkauf zu erhalten.

»Ein besonderes Dankeschön geht auch an François Chartier und Wakana Tabata von Tanaka 1789 x Chartier für ihre Zusage, unserem Somm360 Education Fund 30.000 USD aus dem Verkauf ihrer Sake-Projekte zu spenden. Wir laden alle anderen Organisationen ein, ihrer Vision zu folgen«, sagt Lafortune.

Wissenspartner
Somm360 ist stolz darauf, mit führenden Branchenmarken und Weinbauregionen zusammenzuarbeiten. Diese Partnerschaften ermöglichen es Somm360, Sommeliers weltweit einzigartige Beschäftigungsmöglichkeiten anzubieten und gleichzeitig qualitativ hochwertiges Content für diese neue Online-Initiative zur Unterstützung der Gastronomie zu kuratieren.

  • Coravin
  • Bordeaux Wine Council
  • François Chartier Créateur d’harmonies
  • Japan Sake & Shochu Makers Association
  • Les Domaines Paul Mas
  • Maison M. Chapoutier
  • Masi Agricola
  • Sweet Bordeaux
  • Tanaka Brewery
  • Wines of Rías Baixas
SOMM360 - Your Educational Partner 2020